skip navigation


Durham Tech Logo

2012- 2013 Academic and College Calendar for Faculty and Staff Leave Reporting

Students should use this Academic Calendar.

SPRING SEMESTER 2013
Wednesday, Jan. 2 College reopens; Faculty work day****
Thursday, Jan. 3 Late registration; Faculty work day****
Friday, Jan. 4 

Schedule adjustments; Faculty work day****

Monday, Jan. 7 Classes Begin
Saturday, Jan. 12 Saturday Classes Begin
Monday, Jan. 21 College holiday**
Monday, March 4 First Mini-Session ends; Final Monday classes of first Mini-Session meet*;
Make-up day for January 21 classes
Tuesday-Friday, March 5-8

Spring Break; College open; Faculty work days****; Inclement weather make-up days

Saturday, March 9 No Saturday classes
Monday, March 11 Second Mini-Session begins
Friday, March 29 College holiday**
Saturday, March 30 No Saturday classes
Monday, April 1 College holiday**
Tuesday, April 30 Final Tuesday classes meet*
Wednesday, May 1 Final Wednesday classes meet*
Thursday, May 2 Final Thursday classes meet*
Saturday, May 4 Final Saturday classes meet*
Monday, May 6 Final Monday classes meet*; Make-up day for April 1 classes
Tuesday, May 7 Final Friday classes meet*; Make-up day for March 29 classes
Wednesday-Friday, May 8-17 Faculty work days****
Friday, May 17 Last day 9-month faculty on contract

SUMMER TERM 2013
Monday, May 20

Summer classes begin

Monday, May 27

College holiday**

Thursday, July 4

College holiday**

Tuesday, July 23 Final Tuesday classes meet*
Wednesday, July 24 Final Wednesday classes meet*
Monday, July 29

Final Monday classes meet*; Make-up day for May 27

Tuesday, July 30

Final Thursday classes meet*; Make-up day for July 4

Thursday, Aug. 1 Last day faculty on summer contract

*Final grades for each course are due within 48 hours after administration of the final graded assignment.

**Refer to the Employee Handbook for the specific college holiday.

***Staff Leave Reporting

  • Staff may request taking unpaid leave or earned annual leave; leave slips must be submitted and approved by the supervisor for 11.5-month staff to take unpaid leave or for 12-month or 11.5-month staff to take earned annual leave.
  • 11.5-month staff have 6 personal unpaid leave days during this academic year because of the number of days the college is open during Winter Break.

****Faculty Leave Reporting

  • Faculty no-report days (faculty do not report for work and do not submit leave slips) are as follows:
    • Wednesday, November 21, 2012;
    • Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, December 19, 20, and 21, 2012;  and
    • Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Monday, December 26, 27, 28, and 31, 2012.
  • Faculty work days are as noted on this Academic and College Calendar; leave slips must be submitted and approved by the supervisor for faculty to take hours or days off on these faculty work days.

 



Durham Technical Community College
1637 Lawson Street
Durham, NC 27703
919-536-7200

Copyright ©Durham Technical Community College. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy l Conditions of Use