|Durham Tech Home > Prospective Students > College Catalog > Tuition and Fees|
|Tuition and Fees|
|Tuition and Fees for Curriculum Students|
|All tuition and fees are due and payable at the Cashier's Window in the White Building, room 81, on the official days of registration. If registering by WebAdvisor, students may pay by credit card during the registration transaction. Students will not receive a bill and are responsible for paying by the established deadlines. Students may pay by cash, check, money order, or credit card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express). Partial payments or credits are not accepted. No portion of a check made payable to Durham Tech will be given to a student except at the written request of the person making the remittance, and the written request must be mailed directly to the college’s business manager.|
|Tuition for Two Colleges|
|If a student wants to enroll at Durham Tech and another college in the North Carolina Community College System for the same semester, the total amount of tuition and fees may be paid to the student’s home college. Home college is defined as the college at which the student initially registers for classes. The home college assumes responsibility for arranging with the other college for enrolling the student in appropriate courses without further charge. This arrangement shall be made by an exchange of letters between the colleges involved.|
|Tuition Fee Basis|
|North Carolina law (General Statute 115D) establishes the Community
College System’s tuition and fees. Tuition charges are for credit
hours enrolled. Credit hours are calculated as follows: one lecture hour,
two or three laboratory hours, three clinical hours, or ten co-op work
experience hours equal one credit hour. The tuition rate per credit hour
applies to all regularly enrolled students. Tuition is subject to change by the N.C. General Assembly.
Students are charged tuition based on the number of credit hours taken per semester up to a maximum amount for students enrolled for 16 or more credit hours per semester. Students are not charged for additional credit hours over 16 per semester.
|Tuition for Legal Residents of North Carolina||
|Effective July 1, 2012, tuition for legal residents of North Carolina is $69 per credit hour or a maximum of $1,104 for students enrolling fall, spring, or summer semesters for 16 or more credit hours. Tuition shall be waived for up to six credit hours of credit instruction and 96 contact hours of noncredit instruction per academic semester for senior citizens, age 65 or older. Tuition is subject to change by the NC General Assembly. High school students enrolling in Durham Tech classes are exempt from tuition charges.|
|Tuition for Out-of-State Students|
|Effective July 1, 2012, tuition for out-of-state residents (persons who have NOT maintained domicile in the state for at least the 12 previous months) is $261 per credit hour or a maximum of $4,176 for students enrolled fall, spring, or summer semester for 16 or more credit hours. Tuition is subject to change by the N.C. General Assembly.|
|North Carolina Residency Status|
|North Carolina law (General Statute 116-143.1) requires that to qualify for in-state tuition, a legal resident must have maintained his/her "domicile" in North Carolina for at least the 12 months immediately before this classification as a resident for tuition purposes.|
definition shall be controlled with the interpretation and application
of General Statute 116-143.1 as it pertains to the term domicile. Domicile
is one’s permanent dwelling place of indefinite duration, as distinguished
from a temporary place of abode; it is synonymous with legal residence.
|Tuition for Senior Citizens|
|Tuition shall be waived for up to six credit hours of credit instruction and 96 contact hours of noncredit instruction per academic semester for senior citizens, age 65 or older, who are qualified as legal residents of North Carolina. Senior citizens must pay tuition for all hours taken in "self-support" courses including any additional fees and expenses. If an eligible senior citizen enrolls in more than six, but less than 16 credit hours in a given semester, he/she shall be charged the regular tuition rate for each credit hour above six credit hours. If an eligible senior citizen enrolls in more than 16 credit hours in a given semester, he/she shall be charged the regular tuition rate for a maximum of 10 credit hours.|
|All curriculum students are charged a student administrative fee
of $46 for each fall and spring semester and $36 for the summer term.
These funds support student clubs and social activities, computer and technology use, college parking and security, student ID cards, and accident insurance for students participating in
college classes and functions.
This fee is subject to change.
A supply fee is charged for some credit courses due to students’ use of a higher than average number of supplies. The supply fee is $10 per course per semester. Health Technology courses that have laboratory hours associated with the course are charged a $15 supply fee (in place of the $10 fee) per semester due to the use of a higher than average number of supplies.
Continuing education students pay a college access, parking, and security fee (CAPS) of $4 per class for a maximum of $12 per semester. Students enrolled in classes that have no tuition costs are not required to pay the CAPS fee.
Adult High School students do not pay a parking fee for or a student ID fee.
There is a $10 replacement fee for the student ID and a $10 replacement fee for the hanging parking decal.
|Tuition for Self-Support Courses|
|Tuition may vary for courses offered as "self-support," which means it is based on the number of students enrolled in each class. For example, tuition for Summer Term 2012 self-support courses will be $66.50 per credit hour. Students must pay for all hours taken in "self-support" courses. Senior citizens and Durham Tech employees must also pay for self-support courses.|
|A $15 graduation fee is payable at the time a student applies for graduation. The fee covers the cost of the award (degree, diploma, or certificate) and the award cover. This fee is subject to change.|
|Cap and Gown Fee|
|Graduating students participating in commencement pay a $20 graduation regalia fee for their caps, tassels, gowns, and graduation announcements. This fee is subject to change.|
|A $5 fee is charged for each official copy of a student’s transcript. There is no charge for an “issued to student” copy. More information about transcripts can be found in the student records section.|
|Course Cancellations and Refund Policy for Credit Courses|
|Tuition refunds for curriculum classes are subject to
the following requirements:
For specific deadline dates, go to the important dates web page.
To begin the refund process, a student must complete a drop form, which is available in the Advising and Registration office. Refund checks are automatically generated when a student completes the necessary drop form to drop a course or courses within the designated refund period. The tuition refund check is mailed to the student’s address on record at the college. Contact the Business Office at 919-536-7201 for any questions or concerns about tuition refunds.
A printed copy of the Durham Tech refund policies for credit and noncredit courses is available for download here or on the Main Campus at the Cashier's Window in the White Building, lobby area, and at the Corporate Education Center reception area; at the Northern Durham Center information desk; at the SouthBank Building information desk; at the information desk of the Durham Tech site located at Northgate Mall; at the Orange County Campus information desk; and at the Orange County Skills Development Center.
|Books and Supplies|
|Students may purchase most textbooks, supplies, instruments, and materials from the bookstore on campus. The cost of books and supplies varies with each program. However, most full-time students should anticipate spending approximately $350 to $700 each semester. Students should attend each class at least once before purchasing texts and materials. Check bookstore information for store hours and information about ordering textbooks online.|
|Durham Tech participates in the North Carolina Community College Student Health Plan. For more information on eligibility requirements, benefits, enrollment, and costs, contact United Healthcare at http://www.studentccsi.com/contact.aspx.|
|Malpractice and Health Insurance|
|Students enrolling in nursing and other health programs that require clinical or patient care instruction must provide their own malpractice and health insurance. For more information, contact the Business Office or the appropriate program director. Educational liability/malpractice insurance costs $16 per year.|
|Insurance for Study Abroad|
|Participants in the Study Abroad course are required to pay for insurance at a cost of $7.75 per student per week. This fee is included in the course registration.|
|Students in certain programs have additional expenses. Although this list is not intended to be exhaustive, examples of such additional
expenses include instructional kits and gold in Dental Laboratory Technology,
tools in Automotive Systems Technology and Electrical/ Electronics Technology,
drafting kits in Architectural Technology, instructional kits in Opticianry,
scrub suits in Surgical Technology, and uniforms and stethoscopes in Respiratory
Therapy and Nursing programs. Some programs also require lab coats and
other miscellaneous supplies. Certain health programs require professional
liability insurance. Contact the Admissions office for more information
about additional expenses.