Keep you seat for Fall 2015 classes! Pay on time!
Tuition and Fees for Curriculum Students
All tuition and fees are due and payable at the Cashier's Window in the White Building, room 81, on the official days of registration. If registering by WebAdvisor, students may pay by credit card during the registration transaction. Students will not receive a bill and are responsible for paying by the established deadlines. Students may pay by cash, check, money order, or credit card (VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express). Partial payments or credits are not accepted. No portion of a check made payable to Durham Tech will be given to a student except at the written request of the person making the remittance, and the written request must be mailed directly to the college’s business manager.
Tuition for Two Colleges
If a student wants to enroll at Durham Tech and another college in the North Carolina Community College System for the same semester, the total amount of tuition and fees may be paid to the student’s home college. Home college is defined as the college at which the student initially registers for classes. The home college assumes responsibility for arranging with the other college for enrolling the student in appropriate courses without further charge. This arrangement shall be made by an exchange of letters between the colleges involved.
Tuition Fee Basis
North Carolina law (General Statute 115D) establishes the Community
College System’s tuition and fees. Tuition charges are for credit
hours enrolled. Credit hours are calculated as follows: one lecture hour,
two or three laboratory hours, three clinical hours, or ten co-op work
experience hours equal one credit hour. The tuition rate per credit hour
applies to all regularly enrolled students. Tuition is subject to change by the N.C. General Assembly.
Students are charged tuition based on the number of credit hours taken per semester up to a maximum amount for students enrolled for 16 or more credit hours per semester. Students are not charged for additional credit hours over 16 per semester.
Important Notice: The NC General Assembly is responsible for setting tuition rates at community colleges. As of July 1, 2015, The rates for this year have not been enacted yet, but there is a possibility that the new rates will include a tuition increase. Until the new rates are enacted, Durham Tech will charge students the current rates (in-state, $72/credit hour; out-of-state, $264/credit hour). If the General Assembly enacts a tuition increase for this year, students will be billed for the additional amount. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
|It is important to prepare for the cost of college — including course tuition, fees, and books. Here’s an example of two students’ cost estimates for attending Durham Tech and paying the in-state tuition rate. One student is taking 12 credit hours, and another student is taking 16 credit hours per semester.|
|In-State Tuition Rate* (Per Credit Hour):||$72||$72|
|Multiply by Credit Hours Taken:||X||12||16|
|Add Student Administrative Fee*:||+||$46||$46|
|Tuition* and Fees* for One Semester:||=||$910||$1,198|
|Estimate for Book Costs:||+||$500||$650|
|Estimate for Tuition*, Fees*, and Books:||=||$1,410||$1,848|
|* Tuition and fees are subject to change.
View a more detailed Tuition and Fee calculation chart.
Tuition for Legal Residents of North Carolina
Effective July 1, 2014, tuition for legal residents of North Carolina is $72 per credit hour or a maximum of $1,152 for students enrolling fall, spring, or summer semesters for 16 or more credit hours. Tuition is subject to change by the NC General Assembly. Please view the important notice above the tuition table about 2015 tutition rates. High school students enrolling in Durham Tech classes are exempt from tuition charges. View the Tuition and Fee calculation chart.
Effective July 1, 2014, tuition for out-of-state residents (persons who have NOT maintained domicile in the state for at least the 12 previous months) is $264 per credit hour or a maximum of $4,224 for students enrolled fall, spring, or summer semester for 16 or more credit hours. Tuition is subject to change by the N.C. General Assembly. Please view the important notice above the tuition table about 2015 tutition rates. View the Tuition and Fee calculation chart.
North Carolina law (General Statute 116-143.1) requires that to qualify for in-state tuition, a legal resident must have maintained his/her "domicile" in North Carolina for at least the 12 months immediately before this classification as a resident for tuition purposes.
The following definition shall be controlled with the interpretation and application of General Statute 116-143.1 as it pertains to the term domicile. Domicile is one’s permanent dwelling place of indefinite duration, as distinguished from a temporary place of abode; it is synonymous with legal residence.
- Domicile may be established as follows:
- By birth until there is a legally effective change in that domicile;
- By operation of law, as in the case of a minor whose domicile, in most cases, is presumed conclusively to be that of his or her parents; or
- By choice (after legal age is attained) a person may establish his or her domicile in a jurisdiction of his or her choice.
- One always has a domicile.
- One retains a given domicile until it is abandoned and another is established.
- One never has more than one domicile at a given time.
- Establishing a domicile by choice requires the overt act of establishing physical residential presence in North Carolina while concurrently maintaining the intent to make it one’s permanent home of indefinite duration.
- The requisite domiciliary intent is tested by evaluating relevant, objectively verifiable conduct which is held to constitute a manifestation of the state of mind of the actor.
- Any international student (nonimmigrant or with permanent resident status) must submit immigration documents for review by the international student advisor. There are several visa categories which do not qualify a student for legal residency.
- Questions about North Carolina residency should be addressed to Admissions and Enrollment Services.
All curriculum students are charged a student administrative fee of $46 for each fall and spring semester and $36 for the summer term. These funds support student clubs and social activities, computer and technology use, college parking and security, student ID cards, and accident insurance for students participating in college classes and functions. This fee is subject to change.
A supply fee is charged for some credit courses due to students’ use of a higher than average number of supplies. The supply fee is $10 per course per semester. Health Technology courses that have laboratory hours associated with the course are charged a $15 supply fee (in place of the $10 fee) per semester due to the use of a higher than average number of supplies.
Continuing education students pay a college access, parking, and security fee (CAPS) of $4 per course for a maximum of $12 per semester and a computer use and technology fee of $5 per course. Students enrolled in classes that have no tuition costs are not required to pay the CAPS fee.
Adult High School students do not pay a parking fee for or a student ID fee.
There is a $10 replacement fee for the student ID and a $10 replacement fee for the hanging parking decal.
Educational Liability/Malpractice Insurance is $16 per student per year. Students in classes with clinical components are required to pay this fee prior to participation in class at the clinical site as well as a fee for required background checks. Students must include these fees with their tuition payment. These fees are subject to change.
Tuition may vary for courses offered as "self-support," which means it is based on the number of students enrolled in each class. Students must pay for all hours taken in self-support courses. Senior citizens and Durham Tech employees must also pay for self-support courses.
A $15 graduation fee is payable at the time a student applies for graduation. The fee covers the cost of the award (degree, diploma, or certificate) and the award cover. This fee is subject to change.
Graduating students participating in commencement pay a $20 graduation regalia fee for their caps, tassels, gowns, and graduation announcements. This fee is subject to change.
A $5 fee is charged for each official copy of a student’s transcript. There is no charge for an “issued to student” copy. More information about transcripts can be found in the student records section.
Tuition refunds for curriculum classes are subject to the following requirements:
- A 100 percent refund is issued when a student officially drops a course prior to the first day of classes of the academic semester noted in the academic calendar. If a course is canceled by Durham Tech, that portion of tuition paid for the canceled course is refunded in full.
- A 75 percent refund is issued when the student officially drops a course prior to or on the official 10 percent point of the semester. Requests for refunds are not considered after the 10 percent point of the semester.
- Student fees, including administrative, laboratory, malpractice insurance (if required for a program of study), and graduation fees cannot be refunded except in the case of courses canceled by the college.
For specific deadlines, including the 10 percent point of the semester, go to the Important Dates web page.
To begin the refund process, a student must drop the course(s) using the WebAdvisor registration system. For a 100 percent refund, the course must be dropped by 11:59 p.m. on the day prior to the first day of the academic semester. For a 75 percent refund, the course must be dropped by 11:59 p.m. on the day designated as the official 10 percent point of the semester. Refund checks are automatically generated provided a student completes the drop process within the designated refund period. The tuition refund check is mailed to the student’s address on record at the college after the end of the 75 percent refund period, typically about three weeks after the beginning of the semester. Contact the Business Office at 919-536-7201 for any questions or concerns about tuition refunds.
A printed copy of the Durham Tech refund procedure for credit courses is available for download here. It is also available at the following locations: the Main Campus at the Cashier's Window in the White Building and at the Corporate Education Center reception area; at the Northern Durham Center information desk; at the SouthBank Building information desk; at the information desk of the Durham Tech site located at Northgate Mall; at the Orange County Campus information desk; and at the Orange County Skills Development Center. The curriculum refund procedure is subject to change by action of the North Carolina Community College State Board to its refund policy.
Students may purchase most textbooks, supplies, instruments, and materials from the bookstore on campus. The cost of books and supplies varies with each program. However, most full-time students should anticipate spending approximately $350 to $700 each semester. Students should attend each class at least once before purchasing texts and materials. Check bookstore information for store hours and information about ordering textbooks online.
Durham Tech participates in the North Carolina Community College Student Health Plan. For more information on eligibility requirements, benefits, enrollment, and costs, contact United Healthcare at http://www.studentccsi.com/contact.aspx.
Students enrolling in nursing and other health programs that require clinical or patient care instruction must provide their own malpractice and health insurance. For more information, contact the Business Office or the appropriate program director. Educational liability/malpractice insurance costs $16 per year.
Participants in the Study Abroad course are required to pay for insurance at a cost of $7.75 per student per week. This fee is included in the course registration.
Students in certain programs have additional expenses. Although this list is not intended to be exhaustive, examples of such additional expenses include instructional kits and gold in Dental Laboratory Technology, tools in Automotive Systems Technology and Electrical/ Electronics Technology, drafting kits in Architectural Technology, instructional kits in Opticianry, scrub suits in Surgical Technology, and uniforms and stethoscopes in Respiratory Therapy and Nursing programs. Some programs also require lab coats and other miscellaneous supplies. Certain health programs require professional liability insurance. Contact Admissions and Enrollment Services for more information about additional expenses.