International Student (Non-US Citizen) Requirements

As part of our enrollment process, Durham Tech reviews the immigration and residency status of all non-US citizens and provides enrollment advising. Please visit the Center for the Global Learner (CGL) in the White Building (Building 1), room 1-148 to begin this process. CGL can discuss educational options with students in all immigration statuses, including undocumented students.

To schedule an appointment, contact the Center for the Global Learner at or call 919-536-7264, ext. 3228.

To see admission steps for non-US citizens, view the following status that applies:

For current F-1 students or those seeking an F-1 student visa, see options below:

A high school diploma or completion of a college degree is required for admission into many of our programs. If you completed high school or college abroad you should have your diploma, certificate, or transcript translated into English and reviewed by the International Student Services staff in the Center for the Global Learner to see if it meets the admissions requirements.

If you would like to receive transfer credit for courses you have taken in college abroad, you must have your transcript professionally evaluated. For a list of local certified professional translation and evaluation agencies, see Translation and Evaluation Services.

For students who first language is not US English, the English for Academic Purposes (EAP) program can help you improve your higher-level English skills necessary for you to succeed in your coursework. Follow the College enrollment steps and read more about EAP testing and course placement.

Durham Tech non-US students come from 87+ countries!

world map with blue tags marking each country which are listed below image

List of countries: Afghanistan, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bermuda, Barbados, Brazil, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Congo Democratic Rep (Zaire), Costa Rica, Cote D'Ivoire, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Ghana, Great Britain (UK), Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Iran, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Korea (south), Liberia, Malaysiai, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, and Zimbabwe

Related Links